Skip to content

An important update on the CAA2020 Awards For Excellence in light of the COVID-19 pandemic


The CAA Awards for Excellence is an exciting opportunity to share the incredible work occurring in the ambulance sector. Each year CAA receives nominations from its 11 member services and is blown away by the innovation that the awards program highlights.

The Council of Ambulance Authorities has been continually monitoring the ever-changing environment due to the current pandemic. In light of this, we have decided that in order to allow all services the time to focus on the current COVID-19 situation at hand, the CAA2020 Awards for Excellence will be postponed until 2021.

Whilst this was a disappointing decision to make, we look forward to seeing the projects that come out of this challenging time and celebrating the creativity and hard work when nominations are reopened in February 2021.

The CAA will communicate new key dates for the awards in the coming months with the aim to operate on a similar timeline to what was expected to be carried out this year. We have rescheduled with the venue and can now announce that the CAA Awards For Excellence Gala Dinner will be held in Sydney at Dockside, Darling Harbor on Friday, July 16, 2021.

CAA Awards for Excellence

The Australasian Ambulance Awards for Excellence have been run by the Council of Ambulance Authorities for over 10 years with the aim to recognise the hard and innovative work of member ambulance services from Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea. The awards are designed to encourage innovation and to enable services to share their work and learn from each other. The awards are independently judged by a panel of industry respected judges from across the globe.

In 2020, the categories are:

  • Excellence in Clinical Practice (Innovation or Capability)
  • Excellence in Leadership (Management Practice or Operational Improvement or Innovation)
  • Excellence in Patient Care (Patient Experience Improvement or Innovation)
  • Excellence in Staff Development (Education Improvement or Innovation)
  • Excellence in Technology (Innovation or Capability)
  • Excellence in Mental Health and Wellbeing (Innovation or Operational Improvement)

Important dates to remember:

February 3 – Awards Platform goes LIVE
April 30 – Awards Platform CLOSES
May 2020 – JUDGING
August 26 – CAA Gala Award Dinner – WINNERS ANNOUNCED

Congratulations to our 2019 Winners!